Winter is Coming

image
image

Winter is Coming ,  knocking so hard on my window today,  ..  Windy stormy rain showers,  hit me by surprise,  and left me in a bad morning mood
There was Me,  and there was Beirut

Beirut.. A city of fame and shame, of love and hate,  a hideous city of extreme beauty and extreme ugliness,  a city of contradictions,  which is common character of middle eastern cities in general
This Morning,  Me,  the Rain and Beirut,  and a drafting load of nostalgia, In a city of such smell after rain, a smell that can be considered as some sort of global disappointment to the laws of Nature, i closed my eyes and scanned my memory for a way out, i dreamt of warm odorous dish to brighten up my day, and what better candidate than “Mamouneh”, once i pronounced the letters,  Aleppo; glorious Aleppo came to my table, danced to the contradictory smells and flavours of this dish, the sweetened semolina with its earthy simple flavours, tangled to the saltiness and savory taste of the white cheese on top, and the fascinating fragrance of cinnamon. I indulged my senses in the warmth of good smelling far away cities, far from Beirut – city that once was queen of all- i enjoyed this dish, warm, soft, and fragrant.
Mr. “F” smiled to me with compliments to the chef and excellent breakfast choice, while i sailed away from falling cities, meaningless wars, and heart aching nostalgia
“Punch of spices, lots of love and a bit of thinking” best recipe for peaceful Sunday

See You next Sunday..

6 thoughts on “Winter is Coming

  1. Pingback: Winter is Coming | Soul Kitchen

  2. المأمونية بالجبنة أو القيمر افطار لذيذ ويحمل في طياته الكثير من الذكريات الحلوة… كتير حبيت طريقة تقديمها وحبيت كتير كتابتك عنها
    شكرا وكمان شكرا

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment